Run time: 114 mins

Based on the international best-selling novel by Jonas Jonasson, the unlikely story of 100-year-old man who decides it’s not too late to start over.

Allan Karlsson (Swedish comic Robert Gustafsson) a jovial pyromaniac, is committed to a care home (for revenge on a fox for killing his beloved cat). Allan then makes a swift exit via a window just as his own centennial birthday party gets under way.

Throughout his long life he has many accidental encounters with all sorts of key 20th Century figures, including Franco, Stalin and Reagan. The many highlights includes, meeting Einstein’s dimwit half-brother Herbert (a splendid David Shackleton) who doodles animals while Albert tackles field equations.

Allan innocently becomes caught up in a crime caper involving a suitcase full of cash, some nasty heavies, a frozen body and an elephant.

“A film that might not always make sense, but is never dull.” (Total Film)

“A soundtrack of bubbling brass and some lively cinematography keep the fires of mischief lit. Daft and delightful.” (Irish Independent)

A Swedish hit in 2013/14, this silly heart warming romp is here once more at the Rex.

It is ingenious on all levels particularly ‘daft and delightful’. Don’t miss.


Monday 12th July
07:30 pm
Friday 25th June
19:30
Thursday 15th July
19:30
Saturday 26th June
14:00
Friday 30th July
14:00
Sunday 27th June
18:00
Monday 28th June
19:30
Tuesday 29th June
19:30
Last Few Seats
Wednesday 30th June
14:00
Wednesday 30th June
19:30
Last Few Seats
Saturday 3rd July
14:00
Thursday 29th July
14:00
Wednesday 7th July
14:00
Wednesday 7th July
19:30
Thursday 8th July
19:30
Sunday 11th July
18:00
Tuesday 13th July
19:30
Last Few Seats
Wednesday 14th July
14:00
Wednesday 14th July
19:30
Last Few Seats
Tuesday 20th July
19:30
Wednesday 21st July
14:00
Wednesday 21st July
19:30
Saturday 24th July
19:00
Monday 26th July
19:30
Wednesday 28th July
14:00
Thursday 29th July
19:30