Run time: 112 mins

Oscar Isaac delivers a riveting performance in this gripping portrait of redemption.


Over his decade in prison, William (Isaac) enjoyed the predictability of inmate life, teaching himself how to count cards. Now this earns him a decent living in casinos, moving from place to place to avoid attention, although high roller La Linda (Haddish) notices him. After meeting Cirk, an angry young man seeking revenge against mutual enemy Gordo (Dafoe), they hit the road together. With financial backing from La Linda, they head to Vegas to win it big at the World Series of Poker.


Beautifully shot, the film’s pace is slow but steely. With a churning undertone, this is a dramatic thriller that quickly worms its way beneath the skin. Writer-director Paul Schrader skilfully draws out the complexities of his characters. Isaac gives William a powerful intensity that seems to emerge from his core. His developing mentorship of his companion opens him up to new possibilities while Tye Sheridan brings an edge to the film as the laser-sharp Cirk who needs someone to help focus his energy. An ace in the hole from a filmmaker himself unafraid to take a gamble. (Chris Coetsee)


Friday 3rd December
07:30 pm
Tuesday 30th November
19:30
Wednesday 1st December
14:00
Wednesday 1st December
19:30
Thursday 2nd December
14:00
Thursday 2nd December
19:30
Friday 3rd December
14:00
Wednesday 8th December
14:00
Wednesday 8th December
19:30
LAST FEW SEATS
Thursday 9th December
14:00
Saturday 4th December
14:00
SINGLE SEATS
Saturday 18th December
14:00
SOLD OUT
Saturday 4th December
19:00
LAST FEW SEATS
Friday 10th December
14:00
Sunday 5th December
18:00
LAST FEW SEATS
Monday 6th December
14:00
Tuesday 21st December
19:30
SINGLE SEATS
Tuesday 7th December
14:00
Tuesday 7th December
19:30
Saturday 11th December
14:00
SINGLE SEATS
Sunday 12th December
18:00
Monday 13th December
14:00
Wednesday 15th December
14:00
Wednesday 15th December
19:30
Thursday 16th December
14:00
Wednesday 29th December
14:00
Friday 17th December
14:00
SOLD OUT
Friday 17th December
19:30
SOLD OUT
Saturday 18th December
19:00
SOLD OUT
Sunday 19th December
18:00
SOLD OUT
Monday 20th December
14:00
SOLD OUT
Wednesday 29th December
19:30
SOLD OUT
Tuesday 21st December
14:00
SINGLE SEATS
Wednesday 22nd December
14:00
SINGLE SEATS
Wednesday 22nd December
19:30
LAST FEW SEATS
Thursday 23rd December
14:00
Thursday 23rd December
19:30
LAST FEW SEATS
Friday 24th December
17:30
LAST FEW SEATS
Thursday 30th December
19:30