Run time: 97 mins

This was among our first foreign language miracles-in-film, first at the Rex in the summer of 2005. It continued a sell-out into the following year and the next and beyond. It remains a most beautiful piece of French film-making returning here as part of this year’s back catalogue.

As a new teacher arrives at a school for disruptive boys, he awkwardly and quite unwittingly, sets about changing their lives. A huge success in its native France and its (then) newly adopted home The Rex, The Chorus is a heart surging tale of an inspirational teacher and a rag-tag of abandoned and stranded children.

“With the music of Jean-Phillipe Rameau at its heart, it is not only a beautiful and warm film to cherish, but a celebration of the universal language of song.

Director, Barratier manages to draw naturalistic performances from his youthful cast while Jugnot brings great warmth, genuine care and humour to his role as the odd-man-out teacher.” (Universal) Their faces will start you, the music will take you, the storytellers will do the rest. You must come. It is exquisite. Heart warming and breaking all at once.

It won’t be back for ages. Bring the street.


Monday 5th October
02:00 pm
Monday 5th October
07:30 pm
Tuesday 22nd September
19:30
Thursday 24th September
19:30
Friday 25th September
19:30
Saturday 26th September
14:00
Tuesday 27th October
14:00
Sunday 27th September
18:00
Wednesday 30th September
14:00
Wednesday 30th September
19:30
Wednesday 7th October
14:00
Wednesday 7th October
19:30
Thursday 1st October
19:30
Thursday 8th October
14:00
Saturday 3rd October
14:00
Monday 26th October
14:00
Monday 5th October
14:00
Monday 5th October
19:30
Tuesday 6th October
14:00
Tuesday 6th October
19:30
Saturday 10th October
14:00
Thursday 29th October
14:00
Sunday 11th October
18:00
Monday 12th October
14:00
Tuesday 13th October
14:00
Tuesday 13th October
19:30
Wednesday 14th October
14:00
Wednesday 14th October
19:30
Thursday 15th October
14:00
Friday 23rd October
19:30
Friday 16th October
19:30
Saturday 17th October
14:00
Wednesday 28th October
14:00
Sunday 18th October
18:00
Monday 19th October
14:00
Wednesday 21st October
14:00
Monday 26th October
19:30
Wednesday 21st October
19:30
Thursday 22nd October
14:00
Thursday 22nd October
19:30
Saturday 24th October
14:00
Sunday 25th October
18:00