Run time: 114 mins

Francis Ford Coppola’s gripping Neo-noir thriller celebrates its 50th anniversary.


Set in a post-Watergate era, the film follows Harry Caul (Gene Hackman), a surveillance expert hired to record a seemingly innocuous conversation between a young couple. As Harry meticulously analyses the recording, he becomes increasingly paranoid, suspecting that the conversation may lead to murder. His obsession with the recording’s implications drives him into a moral and psychological crisis, where he must confront his own guilt and the ethical boundaries of his profession.


When The Conversation was first released in 1974, it offered a thoughtful reflection on contemporary concerns about surveillance and privacy. The film owes a lot to Michelangelo Antonioni’s Blow-Up for its existence, mirroring its themes of perception versus reality but within the realm of audio surveillance. Its innovative sound design, paired with a straightforward yet compelling narrative, redefined psychological thrillers and made a lasting impact on the genre, paving the way for films like Blow Out, Enemy of the State and Zodiac.


Caught between the towering presence of the first two Godfather chapters, this gem often gets overshadowed, but it stands as a timeless testament to Coppola’s brilliance


Thursday 25th July
14:00
Thursday 25th July
19:30
Sunday 28th July
18:00
Friday 2nd August
19:30
Friday 16th August
19:30
Friday 26th July
14:00
Saturday 27th July
19:00
Friday 26th July
19:30
Thursday 1st August
19:30
Saturday 27th July
14:00
LAST FEW SEATS
Wednesday 31st July
14:00
LAST FEW SEATS
Thursday 1st August
14:00
Monday 5th August
14:00
Wednesday 7th August
14:00
Saturday 10th August
14:00
Saturday 10th August
19:00
Tuesday 30th July
14:00
Tuesday 30th July
19:30
Saturday 17th August
14:00
Saturday 17th August
19:00
Wednesday 31st July
19:30
Sunday 4th August
18:00
Thursday 8th August
19:30
Wednesday 14th August
19:30
Thursday 8th August
14:00
Friday 9th August
14:00
Sunday 18th August
18:00
Sunday 11th August
18:00
Monday 12th August
14:00
Tuesday 13th August
14:00
Tuesday 13th August
19:30
Tuesday 20th August
14:00
Tuesday 20th August
19:30
Wednesday 21st August
14:00
Wednesday 21st August
19:30
Thursday 22nd August
14:00
Thursday 22nd August
19:30
Friday 23rd August
14:00
Saturday 24th August
14:00
Tuesday 27th August
14:00
Thursday 29th August
14:00
Friday 23rd August
19:30
Saturday 24th August
19:00
Thursday 29th August
19:30
Saturday 31st August
14:00
Monday 26th August
19:30
Wednesday 28th August
14:00
Friday 30th August
19:30
Saturday 31st August
19:00