Run time: 112 mins

Benedict Cumberbatch is a man on a mission in this gripping Cold War thriller.


As tensions between the USA and USSR reach breaking point in 1960, Russian intelligence colonel Oleg Penkovsky (Merab Ninidze) wants to relieve pressure by passing secrets to the West. The CIA and MI6 select unwitting businessman Greville (Cumberbatch) as the courier, suggesting he expand his sales to Moscow. As the Cold War escalates, Berlin is divided, the Soviets begin installing missiles in Cuba and Greville’s assignment takes on a new urgency. Forming a covert, dangerous partnership with Oleg, he suddenly finds himself racing to provide crucial intelligence needed to defuse the Cuban Missile Crisis.


Based on an astonishing true story, this classic-style spy stuff, yet laid out in grounded, believable fashion. Cumberbatch is terrific as the hapless engineer in the eye of the storm. His personal friendship with the engaging Oleg is brilliantly captured, the two finding a commonality between their lives.


Suspenseful from the off, it’s a first-rate exploration of how average people quietly worked toward peace at a fraught moment in history, in full knowledge of the dangers they and their families faced. (Chris Coetsee)


Sunday 3rd October
06:00 pm
Monday 4th October
02:00 pm
Tuesday 19th October
07:30 pm
Saturday 25th September
19:00
Thursday 30th September
19:30
Sunday 26th September
18:00
LAST FEW SEATS
Monday 27th September
14:00
LAST FEW SEATS
Tuesday 28th September
14:00
Tuesday 28th September
19:30
Tuesday 5th October
14:00
Tuesday 5th October
19:30
Monday 11th October
14:00
Wednesday 29th September
14:00
Wednesday 29th September
19:30
Friday 1st October
19:30
Saturday 30th October
14:00
Saturday 2nd October
14:00
Saturday 2nd October
19:30
Sunday 3rd October
18:00
Monday 4th October
14:00
Tuesday 19th October
19:30
Wednesday 6th October
14:00
Wednesday 6th October
19:30
Thursday 7th October
14:00
Thursday 7th October
19:30
Friday 8th October
19:30
Friday 15th October
19:30
Saturday 9th October
14:00
Thursday 28th October
14:00
Saturday 9th October
19:00
Wednesday 13th October
14:00
Wednesday 13th October
19:30
Saturday 23rd October
19:00
Sunday 10th October
18:00
Monday 11th October
19:30
Tuesday 12th October
14:00
Tuesday 12th October
19:30
Thursday 14th October
14:00
Thursday 14th October
19:30
Saturday 16th October
14:00
Monday 25th October
14:00
Monday 18th October
14:00
Monday 18th October
19:30
Tuesday 19th October
14:00
Sunday 24th October
18:00
Wednesday 20th October
14:00
Wednesday 20th October
19:30
Thursday 21st October
14:00
Thursday 21st October
19:30
Saturday 30th October
19:30