Run time: 129 mins


Viggo Mortensen’s second film behind the camera is a quirky spin on the western genre, given true grit by its magnetic heroine.


At the centre of the film is a love story between two independent people who have both grasped the possibilities of the American west. Fierce Vivienne Le Coudy (Vicky Krieps) is a flower seller who gives up her life in San Francisco to settle in Elk Flats, Nevada, with Danish ex-soldier Holger Olsen (Mortensen) after they fall in love at first sight.


Vivienne is no less determined and independent than her ruggedly individualistic lover, and their relationship is presented as a union of equals. Krieps and Mortensen make a convincing and engaging couple, though after Holger heads off to fight in the Civil War, the film is carried by Krieps, as Vivienne must deal with the predatory attentions of a powerful rancher’s spoiled son, Solly McLeod (Tom Jones).


The gentle pacing and fractured, nonlinear structure of this film chime with Mortensen’s arthouse sensibilities, rather than the more traditional view of what a frontier adventure should look like. It’s a pleasant, sincere journey.


Wednesday 21st August
02:00 pm
Wednesday 21st August
07:30 pm
Wednesday 24th July
14:00
Wednesday 24th July
19:30
Thursday 25th July
14:00
Thursday 25th July
19:30
Sunday 28th July
18:00
Friday 2nd August
19:30
Friday 16th August
19:30
Friday 26th July
14:00
Saturday 27th July
19:00
Friday 26th July
19:30
Thursday 1st August
19:30
Saturday 27th July
14:00
LAST FEW SEATS
Wednesday 31st July
14:00
LAST FEW SEATS
Thursday 1st August
14:00
Monday 5th August
14:00
Wednesday 7th August
14:00
Saturday 10th August
14:00
Saturday 10th August
19:00
Tuesday 30th July
14:00
Tuesday 30th July
19:30
Saturday 17th August
14:00
Saturday 17th August
19:00
Wednesday 31st July
19:30
Sunday 4th August
18:00
Thursday 8th August
19:30
Wednesday 14th August
19:30
Thursday 8th August
14:00
Friday 9th August
14:00
Sunday 18th August
18:00
Sunday 11th August
18:00
Monday 12th August
14:00
Tuesday 13th August
14:00
Tuesday 13th August
19:30
Tuesday 20th August
14:00
Tuesday 20th August
19:30
Wednesday 21st August
14:00
Wednesday 21st August
19:30
Thursday 22nd August
14:00
Thursday 22nd August
19:30
Friday 23rd August
14:00
Saturday 24th August
14:00
Tuesday 27th August
14:00
Thursday 29th August
14:00
Friday 23rd August
19:30
Saturday 24th August
19:00
Thursday 29th August
19:30
Saturday 31st August
14:00
Monday 26th August
19:30
Wednesday 28th August
14:00
Friday 30th August
19:30
Saturday 31st August
19:00