Run time: 92 mins

One of the last Ealing comedies of the 1950s, Alexander Mackendrick’s deliciously dark crime caper celebrates its 65th birthday.


Mrs. Wilberforce, an old lady living alone in a tumbledown house near King’s Cross, decides to take in a lodger. The eccentric Professor Marcus soon arrives and is frequently visited by four sinister friends. Under the pretence of amateur musicians, the group are in fact planning a daring robbery in which Mrs. Wilberforce and her home are to be unwittingly involved. When the stolen money is discovered, the gang are faced with only one option; the old girl’s got to go. But as the bumbling crooks wind up double-crossing each other, their numbers slowly reduce one by one.


Alec Guinness delivers a typically mesmerising performance as Professor Marcus alongside the likes of Peter Sellers, Cecil Parker and the superb Katie Johnson.


Wickedly hilarious and a precise balance of situational comedy and stark murderous callousness, it’s a treat. If you’ve seen it before, make sure you see it again on the big screen. And if you’ve never seen it before, you owe it to yourself to see one of the British film industry’s true greats. (Research Chris Coetsee)


Wednesday 9th December
02:00 pm
Friday 4th December
14:00
Tuesday 15th December
19:30
Friday 4th December
19:30
SINGLE SEATS
Sunday 6th December
18:00
SINGLE SEATS
Saturday 5th December
19:00
SOLD OUT
Monday 7th December
14:00
Monday 7th December
19:30
Tuesday 8th December
14:00
Wednesday 9th December
19:30
Thursday 10th December
14:00
Thursday 10th December
19:30
Friday 11th December
19:30
Saturday 12th December
14:00
SOLD OUT
Saturday 12th December
19:00
Monday 14th December
14:00
Sunday 13th December
18:00
Tuesday 15th December
14:00
Wednesday 16th December
14:00
Wednesday 16th December
19:30
Thursday 17th December
14:00
Thursday 17th December
19:30
Friday 18th December
14:00
SOLD OUT
Friday 18th December
19:30
Monday 21st December
14:00
Saturday 19th December
14:00
SOLD OUT
Saturday 19th December
19:00
SOLD OUT
Sunday 20th December
18:00
SINGLE SEATS
Wednesday 23rd December
14:00
LAST FEW SEATS
Wednesday 23rd December
19:30
LAST FEW SEATS
Thursday 24th December
17:00
LAST FEW SEATS
Monday 21st December
19:30
LAST FEW SEATS
Tuesday 22nd December
14:00
SINGLE SEATS
Tuesday 22nd December
19:30
SINGLE SEATS
Wednesday 30th December
14:00
SOLD OUT
Thursday 31st December
18:00