Run time: 132 mins

A remarkably assured first feature from von Donnersmarck and the film’s true star: Ulrich Mühe who died only a year after the film’s release. I hope he got to see his remarkable, compelling portrayal. It paints a dark picture of life under the dying Cold-War Communist regime in the German Democratic Republic (GDR). A grey world inhabited by these extraordinary faces is set mainly in East Berlin during the mid 1980s. It chronicles the Minister of Culture’s decision to investigate the lives of a successful playwright and his actress wife. He is, of course that senior Official fat gargoyle, who happens to fancy-slobbering over her.

His power gets his way (never heard of such a thing). Questioning his own ethics, the Stasi officer in charge of prying, becomes profoundly affected by bugging this ‘innocent’ couple. This film succeeds both as a convincing historical recreation and a compelling tale of individuals trapped in the dying years of evil institutional mistrust. (uh oh…?) A perfect cast of imperfect faces. Upon release, the film caused an extraordinary stir in the old Eastern Bloc. Here is a glance at today’s curious parallel: the newly-masked, fearful ‘greater-good’ pushing willingly into our own fear bubble.  Come see for yourself… but tell no one.


Monday 14th December
07:30 pm
Friday 4th December
14:00
Tuesday 15th December
19:30
Friday 4th December
19:30
SINGLE SEATS
Sunday 6th December
18:00
SINGLE SEATS
Saturday 5th December
19:00
SOLD OUT
Monday 7th December
14:00
Monday 7th December
19:30
Tuesday 8th December
14:00
Wednesday 9th December
19:30
Thursday 10th December
14:00
Thursday 10th December
19:30
Friday 11th December
19:30
Saturday 12th December
14:00
SOLD OUT
Saturday 12th December
19:00
Monday 14th December
14:00
Sunday 13th December
18:00
Tuesday 15th December
14:00
Wednesday 16th December
14:00
Wednesday 16th December
19:30
Thursday 17th December
14:00
Thursday 17th December
19:30
Friday 18th December
14:00
SOLD OUT
Friday 18th December
19:30
Monday 21st December
14:00
Saturday 19th December
14:00
SOLD OUT
Saturday 19th December
19:00
SOLD OUT
Sunday 20th December
18:00
SINGLE SEATS
Wednesday 23rd December
14:00
LAST FEW SEATS
Wednesday 23rd December
19:30
LAST FEW SEATS
Thursday 24th December
17:00
LAST FEW SEATS
Monday 21st December
19:30
LAST FEW SEATS
Tuesday 22nd December
14:00
SINGLE SEATS
Tuesday 22nd December
19:30
SINGLE SEATS
Wednesday 30th December
14:00
SOLD OUT
Thursday 31st December
18:00