Run time: 104 mins

The Lunchbox is back now to pay tribute to Irrfan Khan who died just a short time ago.


A mix-up in Mumbai’s famous ‘dabbawalla’ lunchbox delivery system leads to an exchange of hearts.


Middle class housewife, Ila (Nimrat Kaur) is trying once again to add some spice to her marriage, this time through her cooking. Desperately hoping that this new recipe will finally arouse some kind of reaction in her neglectful husband.


Here Irrfan plays Saajan, a grouchy widower who discovers that his lunch has accidentally been switched.


Curious about her husband’s lack of affection, Ila puts a note in the following day’s lunchbox. This begins a series of innocent exchanges between Saajan and Ila.

Gradually their notes become little confessions about their loneliness, memories, regrets, fears and small joys.


The sense of place is caught beautifully, a bustling, teeming modern Mumbai in all it’s street chaos is caught in this beautifully paced romance.


“A wistful, elegant love story played out across the (impossible social-distancing) streets of Mumbai, an unexpectedly aromatic charmer from first-time film-maker Ritesh Batra.” (Screen International edit)

This is the film’s fourth outing here, and loved by all who came in 2014. Come, love it once more.


Tuesday 25th August
07:30 pm
Saturday 1st August
19:00
Monday 31st August
19:30
Sunday 2nd August
18:00
Wednesday 5th August
14:00
Tuesday 4th August
19:30
Wednesday 12th August
14:00
Sunday 16th August
18:00
Friday 28th August
19:30
Wednesday 19th August
14:00
Wednesday 19th August
19:30
Wednesday 26th August
14:00
Wednesday 26th August
19:30