Run time: 106 mins

Always a welcome Summer return of this beautiful film on the big screen It keeps it alive for new generations to see for the first time on a big screen.


It perfectly captures the sunny English landscape at a time when children waved at steam trains. It is a tale of innocence, pride and good manners about hardship, adversity and the once easy friendship between children and grown-ups. It is a celebration of old-fashioned fortitude set in an environment of steam trains, endless summer days and buns for tea. It is unashamedly sentimental. Nobody can deny the love and charm of this timeless 1970 film version of Edith Nesbitt’s classic children’s novel. It is a chance to choke back a new tear and give new children the chance to be lost in the simple beauty of the original.


There are no explosions and nobody gets a thick ear. “Whether today’s kids get it is open to debate.” (Time Out) But as the father of girls, “Daddy … my daddy!” when the steam clears the platform, will remain forever heartbreaking and soaring at once. Bring your grandparents and, if you don’t fidget, there might be buns for tea when you get home… Don’t miss – ever.

Wednesday 18th August
02:00 pm
Monday 2nd August
14:00
Friday 13th August
14:00
Thursday 5th August
14:00
Monday 9th August
14:00
Thursday 5th August
19:30
Friday 6th August
14:00
Sunday 8th August
18:00
Sunday 15th August
18:00
Tuesday 17th August
14:00
Saturday 7th August
19:00
Friday 20th August
19:30
Tuesday 10th August
14:00
Thursday 12th August
14:00
Wednesday 11th August
14:00
Sunday 22nd August
18:00
Thursday 12th August
19:30
Saturday 21st August
19:00
Saturday 14th August
19:00
Monday 16th August
14:00
Saturday 21st August
14:00
Wednesday 18th August
19:30
Thursday 19th August
19:30
Friday 20th August
14:00
Tuesday 24th August
14:00
Monday 23rd August
14:00
Thursday 26th August
14:00
Thursday 26th August
19:30
Friday 27th August
14:00
Saturday 28th August
19:00