Run time: 111 mins

Two New Yorkers explore post-socialist Poland in Julia von Heinz’s enjoyable dramedy.


American music journalist Ruth (Lena Dunham) and her father, Edek (Stephen Fry), a charmingly stubborn Holocaust survivor, embark on a journey to his homeland. While Ruth is eager to make sense of her family’s past, Edek has his own agenda as he unlocks his painful memories.


Between Edek and Ruth, much has been hidden or distorted out of an irrational fear of one another’s concerns. Von Heinz is able to translate with this in a somewhat lighthearted manner, but seriously considers the broader implications of entire generations and the pain they’ve suppressed.


Dunham, who rarely acts outside of the films she directs herself, is an inspired choice as Ruth. The squabbling between father and daughter is undoubtedly one of the film’s brightest points and the teaming of Dunham and Fry, which one might not think would work, is it’s greatest trick. And with that winning duo at its centre, Treasure is airy enough to open up the conversations that its characters have to dig so deep within themselves to have, treating touchy subject matter with the respect it deserves


Wednesday 24th July
02:00 pm
Wednesday 24th July
07:30 pm
Wednesday 24th July
14:00
Wednesday 24th July
19:30
Thursday 25th July
14:00
Thursday 25th July
19:30
Sunday 28th July
18:00
Friday 2nd August
19:30
Friday 16th August
19:30
Friday 26th July
14:00
Saturday 27th July
19:00
Friday 26th July
19:30
Thursday 1st August
19:30
Saturday 27th July
14:00
LAST FEW SEATS
Wednesday 31st July
14:00
LAST FEW SEATS
Thursday 1st August
14:00
Monday 5th August
14:00
Wednesday 7th August
14:00
Saturday 10th August
14:00
Saturday 10th August
19:00
Tuesday 30th July
14:00
Tuesday 30th July
19:30
Saturday 17th August
14:00
Saturday 17th August
19:00
Wednesday 31st July
19:30
Sunday 4th August
18:00
Thursday 8th August
19:30
Wednesday 14th August
19:30
Thursday 8th August
14:00
Friday 9th August
14:00
Sunday 18th August
18:00
Sunday 11th August
18:00
Monday 12th August
14:00
Tuesday 13th August
14:00
Tuesday 13th August
19:30
Tuesday 20th August
14:00
Tuesday 20th August
19:30
Wednesday 21st August
14:00
Wednesday 21st August
19:30
Thursday 22nd August
14:00
Thursday 22nd August
19:30
Friday 23rd August
14:00
Saturday 24th August
14:00
Tuesday 27th August
14:00
Thursday 29th August
14:00
Friday 23rd August
19:30
Saturday 24th August
19:00
Thursday 29th August
19:30
Saturday 31st August
14:00
Monday 26th August
19:30
Wednesday 28th August
14:00
Friday 30th August
19:30
Saturday 31st August
19:00