Run time: 110 mins

The scintillating true story of a literary love affair that fuelled the imagination of one of the 20th century’s most celebrated writers.


Poet and novelist Vita (Gemma Arterton) and literary icon Virginia (Elizabeth Debicki) run in different circles in 1920s London. When the two cross paths, the magnetic Vita decides the beguiling, stubborn and gifted Virginia will be her next conquest, no matter the cost.


Chanya Button’s Vita & Virginia isn’t simply a cinematic dramatisation of Vita Sackville-West and Virginia Woolf’s passionate correspondence and extramarital romance. It’s also a meditation on the nature of marriage and a celebration of the liberating power of love.


It’s also the joy it is because of its leads. Since her breakthrough role in 2008’s Quantum of Solace, Gemma Arterton has developed into an an authoritative and compelling big screen performer. As Vita Sackville-West, she’s the psychologically fragile heart of London’s racy bohemian Bloomsbury set, and Elizabeth Debicki’s ethereal presence combined with Arteton’s earthy urgency laces their coupling with a genuinely erotic charge. A fitting supplement to both women’s legacies and a thoughtful celebration of their complexity and their complex relationship. (Research Chris Coetsee)


Wednesday 21st August
14:00
Wednesday 21st August
19:30
LAST FEW SEATS
Friday 23rd August
14:00
Friday 23rd August
19:30
Saturday 24th August
14:00
LAST FEW SEATS
Saturday 24th August
19:00
LAST FEW SEATS
Wednesday 28th August
14:00
SINGLE SEATS
Friday 30th August
14:00
SOLD OUT
Saturday 31st August
14:00
SOLD OUT
Saturday 31st August
19:00
LAST FEW SEATS
Sunday 25th August
18:00
Tuesday 27th August
14:00
Tuesday 27th August
19:30
Thursday 29th August
14:00
Thursday 29th August
19:30
Monday 26th August
19:30
SOLD OUT
Wednesday 28th August
19:30
LAST FEW SEATS