Run time: 101 mins

A touching portrait of a family affected by Alzheimer’s, What They Had delves into the difficulties of deciding what to do for the best.


Drawing from her own grandparents’ marriage, Elizabeth Chomko’s debut feature is a nuanced and compassionate exploration of how dementia affects the whole family. When Ruth (Blythe Danner) goes for a walk in the middle of the night, wandering around in a Chicago snowstorm wearing only a nightgown, her husband Burt (Robert Forster) is terrified when he can’t find her. Fortunately found unharmed in a hospital, the crisis prompts their children Nicky and Bridget (the ever reliable Michael Shannon and Hilary Swank) to come together. With Bridget’s sulky daughter Emma (Taissa Farmiga) in tow, a doctor advises the family to put Ruth into a care home – or what he calls a “memory centre”. Aware of the realities of care homes after Ruth’s own experience as a senior-care nurse, Burt is adamant that his wife should stay at home with him. A painful decision to make, the family grapple with Ruth’s future, while her past is cruelly fading from memory.

(Research Rachel Williams) A storyline now all too familiar, which luckily humour lifts, in just the right places.


Tuesday 23rd April
02:00 pm
Tuesday 23rd April
07:30 pm
Saturday 20th April
19:00
LAST FEW SEATS
Monday 22nd April
19:30
Thursday 25th April
14:00
Tuesday 23rd April
14:00
Tuesday 23rd April
19:30
Wednesday 24th April
14:00
Wednesday 24th April
19:30
Thursday 25th April
19:30
SOLD OUT
Tuesday 30th April
14:00
LAST FEW SEATS
Wednesday 1st May
19:30
Wednesday 15th May
19:30
Thursday 16th May
14:00
Friday 26th April
14:00
Friday 3rd May
14:00
Saturday 27th April
19:00
SOLD OUT
Sunday 28th April
18:00
SOLD OUT
Monday 29th April
14:00
SOLD OUT
Wednesday 1st May
14:00
Thursday 2nd May
14:00
Sunday 5th May
18:00
Wednesday 8th May
14:00
Sunday 19th May
13:00
Sunday 19th May
18:00
Sunday 28th April
13:00
Saturday 4th May
19:00
Tuesday 30th April
19:30
SOLD OUT
Tuesday 7th May
14:00
Tuesday 7th May
19:30
Saturday 4th May
14:00
Sunday 5th May
13:00
Wednesday 8th May
19:30
Thursday 9th May
14:00
Friday 10th May
14:00
Friday 10th May
19:30
Saturday 11th May
19:00
Sunday 12th May
13:00
Saturday 11th May
14:00
Thursday 30th May
14:00
Sunday 12th May
18:00
Monday 13th May
14:00
Thursday 16th May
19:30
Tuesday 14th May
14:00
Tuesday 14th May
19:30
Friday 17th May
14:00
Saturday 18th May
14:00
Saturday 18th May
19:00
Tuesday 28th May
14:00
Monday 20th May
14:00
Monday 20th May
19:30
Thursday 23rd May
14:00
Thursday 23rd May
19:30
Tuesday 21st May
14:00
Tuesday 21st May
19:30
Wednesday 22nd May
14:00
Friday 24th May
19:30
Monday 27th May
19:30
Wednesday 22nd May
19:30
Friday 24th May
14:00
Saturday 25th May
19:00
Sunday 26th May
18:00
Wednesday 29th May
14:00
Wednesday 29th May
19:30