Run time: 100 mins

An Icelandic eco-warrior with a difference is the unlikely heroine of this distinctive light/heavy drama about our warring relationship with nature.


Halla (Halldóra Geirharðsdóttir) is known to her friends as a quiet upbeat choir mistress. However, her seemingly unadventurous life covers up a dark secret. Halla is also ‘The Mountain Woman’. The environmental activist waging a one-woman war on an international industrial giant to protect her bleak-glorious Icelandic rural landscape. When the chance comes to grasp her family dream, she finds herself with a difficult life-decision.


Director Benedikt Erlingsson’s first film, Of Horses and Men, was one of the most startlingly original, audacious features of the past decade. While Woman at War has a different dimension, its breathtaking central wonder woman and rousing theme offer a more focused and driven story. (research Chris Coetsee)

After the plastic cartoon antics of Avengers and Captain Marvel, Halla is morning sunshine, and all in a sensible cardigan. As for the live score – priceless.

The very opposite of those soft-as-shit spandexed digital heroes. In her own knitting, this flesh-real woman unstunts unstinting, actually running around Iceland with a bow and arrow, over the hardest terrain. She will be back until you have all seen her – twice.


Tuesday 6th July
07:30 pm
Friday 25th June
19:30
Thursday 15th July
19:30
Saturday 26th June
14:00
Friday 30th July
14:00
Sunday 27th June
18:00
Monday 28th June
19:30
Tuesday 29th June
19:30
Last Few Seats
Wednesday 30th June
14:00
Wednesday 30th June
19:30
Last Few Seats
Saturday 3rd July
14:00
Thursday 29th July
14:00
Wednesday 7th July
14:00
Wednesday 7th July
19:30
Thursday 8th July
19:30
Sunday 11th July
18:00
Tuesday 13th July
19:30
Last Few Seats
Wednesday 14th July
14:00
Wednesday 14th July
19:30
Last Few Seats
Tuesday 20th July
19:30
Wednesday 21st July
14:00
Wednesday 21st July
19:30
Saturday 24th July
19:00
Monday 26th July
19:30
Wednesday 28th July
14:00
Thursday 29th July
19:30