Run time: 106 mins

Writer-director Ryusuke Hamaguchi’s subtle exploration of humanity and nature’s influence on human connections.


In the woodland outskirts of Tokyo, Takumi and his daughter, Hana, live a peaceful, local existence. When their serene village is disrupted by marketers proposing a glamping park, Takumi’s pointed and invasive inquiries gradually begin to unravel their plans.


Plotting is offhanded, as the focus remains on the interaction and underlying motivations of the various characters. The film quietly explores the relationships between these people and the wildlife in the woods around them, most notably deer that have a trail through the campsite. Performances have a terrific matter-of-fact quality that sparks amusing humour in most situations, particularly Hitoshi Omika in a delightfully dry central role.


While the film feels somewhat enigmatic, it gets under the skin and lingers. Expanding on evocative music from Eiko Ishibashi, Hamaguchi observes scenes with skill and insight, drawing out deeper meanings of community, identity, ambition and greed in ways that feel almost lighter than air. Precise camerawork, earthy writing and subdued performances combine to create a gorgeous picture of humanity. Both beautiful and challenging, it makes for a sublime, strikingly subtle treat.


Wednesday 24th April
07:30 pm
Wednesday 17th April
19:30
Saturday 20th April
19:00
Thursday 18th April
14:00
Thursday 18th April
19:30
Friday 19th April
14:00
Friday 19th April
19:30
LAST FEW SEATS
Tuesday 23rd April
14:00
Tuesday 23rd April
19:30
Thursday 25th April
14:00
Thursday 25th April
19:30
Sunday 28th April
18:00
Monday 29th April
14:00
Tuesday 30th April
14:00
Tuesday 30th April
19:30